How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Missouri
Learn how to obtain a medical card in the State of Missouri. You can also apply for your card online. It takes 30 seconds and you only get charged once your evaluation is approved.Get Started
Frequently Asked Questions About Medical Marijuana in
How much does a Farmacist physician consultation cost?
In Missouri, your evaluation will only cost $139.
How much does the state of Missouri Patient ID Card cost?
The application fee is $25 for a patient or caregiver. An additional cultivation card costs $100. This fee is in addition to the $25 fee.
How long does the state have to process my patient identification card application?
Amendment 2 allows the state to take up to 30 days to process your application. If the state does not finish processing it by then, your certification will serve as your ID for up to a year. But it is nearly guaranteed that this will never happen. The Department has been very fast with applications up to this point. Some applicants have received their new patient identification cards via email within 48 hours.
Are there discounts for the state license?
Unfortunately no. But Missouri’s application fees are much less expensive than most states. For example, in Oklahoma, it costs $100 to apply for a state cannabis ID.
An eligible patient is required to recertify at least once a year. How do I find a doctor that will talk to me about marijuana?
The state does not provide a list of doctors who will see patients for medical marijuana evaluations. More doctors are willing to discuss cannabis use now that they are protected from prosecution for discussing cannabis, but it is hard to know if they will be receptive. The doctors who work with Farmacist are knowledgeable about cannabis use and comfortable discussing its potential benefits with patients.
Can a dentist or a nurse practitioner recommend marijuana?
No. A marijuana recommendation can only be written by a state-licensed osteopath or physician.
Will health insurance cover my cannabis?
Not yet. Medical marijuana is still federally illegal, and insurance companies would not cover it. Some exceptions are made for Epidiolex, which is federally approved and used for seizures.
Can I use cannabis in public?
No. The law specifically states: “Unless otherwise authorized by law, no Qualifying Patient shall use marijuana for medicinal purposes in a public location. Violation of this restriction would result in the violator being subjected to common law penalties.”
Can I extract concentrate with butane?
No. You must have a Medical Marijuana-Infused Products Manufacturing Facility License to extract resins using dangerous materials or explosive gasses. You are allowed to use safe methods such as creating cannabis butter or coconut oil extraction, or other safe alternatives.
What is Farmacist’s refund policy?
You will only be charged if you are approved for your medical marijuana recommendation. If not, your evaluation is free! You can also change your mind after your evaluation if you wish and request a refund, but you must do so before your certification has been sent to you by your doctor. Once you have received your doctor’s certification via email, a refund for services will no longer be available.
What are the eligibility conditions?
- Missouri provides a lengthy list of qualifying criteria, which essentially covers those with a serious or chronic medical condition: Cancer
- Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment
- A chronic medical illness that leads to severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including, but not limited to, those associated with:
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- and Tourette’s syndrome
- Acute mental conditions, including, but not limited to, post-traumatic stress disorder if diagnosed by a state-licensed psychiatrist
- Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- A chronic medical disorder that is usually treated with a prescribed medicine that can lead to physical or psychological dependence, where a practitioner believes that medical marijuana use may help treat the condition and maybe a better alternative to the prescription medicine.
- Any kind of fatal disease
- Any other severe, crippling, or other medical illness, in the professional opinion of a physician, including, but not limited to:
- hepatitis C
- amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- inflammatory bowel disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Huntington’s disease
- sickle cell anemia
- agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- wasting syndrome
According to these rules, many residents in the state who are above the age of 18 and seeking cannabis treatment will be eligible. Parents or guardians of minor patients who need cannabis treatment (for example, whether the child has Dravet syndrome or epilepsy) must have their child evaluated and approved by two entirely separate, state-licensed doctors.
How much medical marijuana can I possess at a time?
You can possess up to 4 ounces in 30 days. If you need more cannabis than this, you will need a recommendation from two completely independent physicians specifying the higher amount required.
Can I be fired for using cannabis in Missouri even if I have a medical marijuana card?
According to Amendment 2, Sec. 7(1)(d), cannabis patients can not “bring an action against any employer, former employer, or prospective employer for wrongful discharge, discrimination, or any similar cause of action or remedy based on the employer, former employer, or prospective employer prohibiting the employee, former employee, or prospective employee from being under the influence of marijuana while at work or disciplining the employee or former employee, up to and including termination from employment for working or attempting to work while under the influence of marijuana.”
How many patients can a primary caregiver have?
A primary caregiver can care for up to 3 qualified patients.
How long will it take for my state Patient Identification Card to arrive in the mail?
You will receive your card via email as soon as you are approved. You can then print it out and keep it with you as your ID. Some patients get their cards in as little as 48 hours, but Amendment 2 gives the state a maximum of 30 days to process your application.
Can my doctor deny an organ transplant if I take medical marijuana?
Amendment 2 provides specific protections for organ transplant patients. The law states, “No patient shall be denied access to or priority for an organ transplant because they hold a Qualifying Patient identification card or use marijuana for medical use.”
Can I purchase MMJ in Missouri using my out-of-state card?
No. Purchases of out-of-state cards are not permitted in Missouri. In Missouri, the only way to lawfully purchase marijuana is with a Missouri Department-issued patient identification card. If you have an “equivalent identity card or permit granted by another jurisdiction or political subdivision of another state,” you can not be arrested if you have fewer than 4 ounces of marijuana or the equivalent. However, you can consult with a lawyer before deciding to do so to ensure that your out-of-state card can help you in Missouri.
If I have a caregiver that cultivates for me, can I cultivate also?
No. Only you or your caregiver can cultivate your cannabis.
How many plants can I cultivate/grow?
You can only cultivate marijuana if you get approval to do so. There is a $100 application fee to cultivate, in addition to the $25 patient application fee.
If you are approved, you will receive special paperwork that you need to keep with your plants. You will need to stay within limits because growing more than the limit will have severe legal consequences. Your cultivation must take place in a locked room, and you must follow the security measures you agreed to when you have the department approve your cultivation plan.
Up to two people can share the same cultivation space if they both have cultivation approval. If one of the patients already has a caregiver license to cultivate for another patient, the facility can be used to cultivate for one more patient.
The limits are as follows:
- 1 patient with cultivation license: 6 mature plants/ 6 immature plants/ 6 seedlings TOTAL
- 2 patients, both with cultivation license: 12 mature plants/ 12 immature plants/ 12 seedlings TOTAL
- 2 patients with cultivation & 1 is a caregiver: 18 mature plants/ 18 immature plants/ 18 seedlings TOTAL
18 is the absolute maximum number of plants that can be cultivated in a single facility. Each set of six plants must be assigned to a specific person with the paperwork displayed for each patient.
Does Missouri charge taxes on cannabis purchases?
Yes. Missouri will require all retailers to charge a 4% tax on all cannabis purchases. This tax is in addition to any other applicable taxes and fees.
If I have a criminal record, will I be able to get a cannabis card?
Yes. A criminal record does not prevent you from obtaining a cannabis card in Missouri. You can be denied if you provide false information or an incomplete application. You can also be revoked if you break the rules of the program, possess more than you are allowed, or sell or traffic cannabis.
Payments & Privacy